Beyond Beyoncé

Thursday night the tectonic plates were converging underneath the Target Center as a statuesque Beyoncé stood frozen on stage with her gaze on the 18,000+ crowd. The production was fit for a Queen and the stage was her throne. An all female backing band and a plethora of phenomenal dancers, costuming and concepts went on for each mini set of songs. She performed for two hours straight never missing a beat, step, or note.

One of the most astonishing moments of the night was when Beyoncé was harnessed from the main stage to her “B” stage as “Baby Boy” played in the background.  She was lifted from the stage with this exquisite gold lamé drapery that was at least 30 feet long wrapped around her that dropped before she was lowered right above the crowd; floating across the sea of faces as if she was walking on water. Then she was raised up higher to perform  five Cirque du Soleil flips in a row and finally was lowered to the smaller stage that was in the middle of the arena.

Every single moment was volcanic; inducing tears on songs like “Ave Maria”/”Angel”, “At Last,” and a tribute version of “Halo” for the late Michael Jackson (I even managed to snag a video).  Beyoncé reached notes that were out of this galaxy singing, “Michael, I can see your halo, I pray it won’t fade away, I pray your music won’t fade away…” I will treasure this concert for the rest of my life. The limitless Beyoncé ended the show humbly by stating, “I AM…YOURS.”

Set list:

1. “Crazy in Love” 2. “Naughty Girl” 3. “Freakum Dress” 4. “Get Me Bodied” 5. “Smash Into You” 6. “Ave Maria”/”Angel” (Sarah McLachlan) 7. “Broken Hearted Girl” 8. “If I Were a Boy”/”You Oughta Know” (Alanis Morissette) 9. “Diva” 10. “Radio” 11. “Me, Myself, and I” 12. “Ego” 13. “Hello” 14. back up band three song set 15. “Baby Boy”  16. “Irreplaceable” 17. “Check On It” 18. Destiny’s Child medley 19. “Video Phone” 20. “Say My Name/ Bills Bills Bills” 21. “At Last” 22. “Listen” 23. “Single Ladies” ENCORE 24. “Halo”/”Happy Birthday” (She does this at the end of all her shows.)

Also, her baby sister Solange opened the show for her–showing off her motown, indie-soul chops. I’d really like to see her play smaller venues to start out, she didn’t even last in her high heels on the stage for more than two songs.

Written by Rachel Summers

rachel.dustbowl@gmail.com

2 responses

  1. Jazmin

    Yes, girl, yes. Your words were perfect.

    I’m still working on my time machine…as soon as I’m finished we are GOING to see that show again.

    July 18, 2009 at 10:44 pm

  2. Nancy

    I WISH I was there..

    July 18, 2009 at 11:49 pm

Leave a Reply

