Love is a Mix Tape

By Rob Sheffield

“Now we had a whole different language to learn, a new grammar of loss to conjugate: I lose, you lose, we lose; I have lost, you have lost, we have lost. Words I said out loud, every day, many times a day, for years and years–suddenly they were dust in my mouth.” ( Sheffield; 157)

I just finished a book I started a long time ago. I tend to begin a novel and stop three chapters in, this has to do with my fear of endings. If I go on a reading  hiatus that happens to be indefinite it doesn’t have to stop. Well, it did. I’ve always said, “The tracks may end, but the sound never stops” and Love is a Mix Tape: Life and Loss, One Song at a Time is the epitome of that phrase. This book made everything in my world feel like it wasn’t out of context. Music and love have always just gone hand in hand. Rob Sheffield ( Pop Life writer for Rolling Stone–recently he did this great piece about True Blood) understands this like nobody’s business. He lost his beloved wife, and she was only in her 30’s and as The Carpenters sang they had “only just begun.” The novel is an ode to era, a space in his life that was meant for and consumed with his love for Renée and the cassette tapes they made. It deals with his life as a husband and an inescapable widower. Pop culture is brought about so tastefully here and in a way that doesn’t pollute the writing. This autobiography has soared to the top of my favorite books chart. It was painstakingly witty and sorrowfully joyous. Love is a Mix Tape also made me want to make a mix about crying, because I sure did sob my way through this one.

1. “Why I Cry”-Ben Gibbard cover

2.”Cryin'”-Aerosmith

3. “The Con”-Tegan and Sara

4.” The Tracks Of My Tears”- Smokey Robinson

Sheffield also made me really want to listen to:

1. “The Rain”- Missy Elliot feat. Timbaland

2. “Hypnotize”- Notorious B.I.G.

3. “I’ll Be Missing You”-Puffy

You also can’t go wrong with The Replacement’s album Tim.

Written by Rachel Summers

rachel.dustbowl@gmail.com

One response

  1. Ted

    Hey Rachel! Good to see your blog while looking up link to Rob Sheffield’s novel.

    Recently I posted the mixtape to the first chapter of Rob’s book on my blog.

    http://readersdiscotheque.blogspot.com/2009/07/love-is-mixtape.html

    Feel free to download & thanks for the crying list!

    July 20, 2009 at 10:40 am

Leave a Reply

