Ben Gibbard and Jay Farrar’s Ode to Kerouac

I’m proud to announce the latest news from the Death Cab for Cutie camp, Ben Gibbard and Jay Farrar (Son Volt) are putting out an album entitled One Fast Move and I’m Gone: Kerouac’s Big Sur on October 20th that parallels the work of Jack Kerouac in his 1962 novel, Big Sur. In addition to this wonderful news, a documentary (identically titled) will accompany the album. This project shouldn’t come as huge surprise for Death Cab fans who have heard Gibbard’s allusions to Kerouac’s work in songs like “Lowell, Ma” (Kerouac’s hometown) or the more recent “Bixby Canyon Bridge” (where Gibbard travels down to Big Sur to see if he can connect with Kerouac on some higher level). Here’s a great article from Paste too.

Here’s the track list via the official Death Cab for Cutie website

1. California Zephyr
2. Low Life Kingdom
3. Willamine
4. All In One
5. Breathe Our Iodine
6. These Roads Don’t Move
7. Big Sur
8. One Fast Move Or I’m Gone
9. Final Horrors
10. Sea Engines
11. The Void
12. San Francisco

Can’t wait to see them on tour. Maybe this gives hope for that long overdue Postal Service record we have all been waiting for.

Written by Rachel Summers


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s