6 Songs.

In honor of the past year (and because reflective lists are all the rage come the end of December), here are some of my favorite tracks of 2009 in no specific order.

“Zero” -The Yeah Yeah Yeahs It’s Blitz


While I wasn’t totally nuts about the entirety of It’s Blitz, this song did make its way onto my summer mix CDs. It has that great fire perfect for coasting highways around the cities.

Sun Gangs” -The Veils Sun Gangs

The title track off the The Veils’ second album is powerful. With a haunting background of repeated piano chords, it is reminiscent of Death Cab for Cutie’s “Transatlanticism”, but Finn Andrews’ voice is in a totally different world. Haven’t heard The Veils? We worked with them this past summer on a Skyway Session. You’ll know what I’m talking about when you listen to Finn’s rendition of “Sun Gangs” with nothing but a guitar and his amazing vocals.

Coast of Carolina”- Telekinesis Telekinesis!

I’ve said it a million times, and I’ll say it again, if you haven’t gotten a chance to listen to this them, make some time and do it. Telekinesis has to be one of my favorite musical things to come out of 2009. “Coast of Carolina” comes from the Coast of Carolina EP, the album which got Michael Benjamin Lerner signed to Merge Records in the first place. The na-na-na’s will be stuck in your head for days.

“Woods”- Bon Iver Blood Bank EP

I’m pretty convinced that Justin Vernon can do no wrong. He has yet to disprove me and I hope he never does. This song enforces my beliefs even further.

My Girls”- Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavillion

Yes, I am well aware this this song (and album for that matter) has made its way onto the tops of a number of different “best of 2009” lists, but I just can’t deny it’s greatness. Say what you will about Animal Collective, but this song brings me back to the freedom of summer with its twinkling synth sounds and energy. Once the build up begins, it never stops and continues to resonate inside of you long after the track ends

“Empire State of Mind”- Jay-Z feat. Alicia Keys The Blueprint 3


I’m not going to lie, it’s Alicia Keys who makes this song for me. Her vocals on the chorus are phenomenal, and not to mention catchy. The city never sleeps, better slip you an Ambien. Now I ask, who’s going to be the one to write the epic song about the Twin Cities?

Haley Rheinhart —
haley.dustbowl@gmail.com

4 responses

  1. Hey there. my dad let me know about your blog a couple months ago, and I really love it. I will be subscribing! Right on!

    January 22, 2010 at 11:25 am

  2. Thanks for what you wrote about here, I really liked it. We are so fortunate to live in a time when there are so many wonderful sisters singing their music. Keep up the great site.

    January 22, 2010 at 5:18 pm

  3. Hello just thought i would tell you something.. This is twice now i’ve landed on your blog in the last 3 weeks searching for completely unrelated things. Spooky or what?

    January 26, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    • intothedustbowl

      Perhaps it’s fate.

      January 27, 2010 at 2:09 am

Leave a Reply

