Broken Bells

The High Road

Something new is brewing in the world of side projects and collaborative art… James Mercer of  The Shins and Brian Burton (better known as Danger Mouse) have teamed up for a project they’re calling Broken Bells. From what I’ve heard of it so far, something good is happening.

Burton, under the stage name of Danger Mouse, has a pretty impressive list of accomplishments under his belt. Most notably might be his formation of the group Gnarls Barkley back in 2003 with rapper Cee-Lo Green (their song “Crazy” snagged the title of Rolling Stone’s Best Song of the Decade). He has also produced albums for artists such as Beck and Gorillaz. In 2004 he released The Grey Album,  blending together tracks from Jay-Z’s The Black Album and instrumentals from The Beatles’ The Beatles (aka The White Album).

Now, Burton is at it again, mixing his technical and production skills with Mercer’s dreamy vocals, which do not stray too far from what you’ll hear out of The Shins.

Head over to and listen to “The High Road” the single from the up and coming album which drops on 9th March, 2009. I think it’s safe to say that this project has serious potential.

Haley Rheinhart


Gibbard and Farrar’s New Album Out and Streaming on NPR

Stream “One Fast Move and I’m Gone” in its entirety on NPR.

The Dustbowl featured in the Hamline Oracle

Haley Rheinhart & Rachel Summers

We’ve been featured in the University paper! Check out the article written by Eric Siegel.

— Haley Rheinhart —



Hey everyone. We’ve done some editing on our most recent Skyway Session with The Veils. The color is better and it’s higher quality on our new Vimeo account. Go forth and subscribe to our channel or like the video or whatever. Our Vimeo page is here. Or pop over to our Skyway Sessions page, where we’ve posted the new video as well.

-The Dustbowl

Local Nightclub Closed

You may have heard, Maplewood’s Myth nightclub closed it’s doors today. Whether this shut-down is permanent or just temporary is uncertain at this point. Read more about it here.

— Haley Rheinhart —

Tiësto feat. Tegan and Sara

As I sit in the law library supposedly “working,” I figured I’d give you folks some good listening tunes for a Sunday or when you want to have a dance/trance party! Kaleidoscope is the new album from Tiësto, it features some of The Dustbowl’s favorite artists, including Priscilla Ahn, Cary Brothers, Nelly Furtado, and last but not least, Tegan and Sara. Check out their track called “Feel It In My Bones” via Stereogum.

In other news, Tegan and Sara recently announced that their latest album, Sainthood will be released 10/27.

Here are links to the album art via Tegan and Sara and a funny video from Chris Walla.




Written by Rachel Summers

Ben Gibbard and Jay Farrar’s Ode to Kerouac

I’m proud to announce the latest news from the Death Cab for Cutie camp, Ben Gibbard and Jay Farrar (Son Volt) are putting out an album entitled One Fast Move and I’m Gone: Kerouac’s Big Sur on October 20th that parallels the work of Jack Kerouac in his 1962 novel, Big Sur. In addition to this wonderful news, a documentary (identically titled) will accompany the album. This project shouldn’t come as huge surprise for Death Cab fans who have heard Gibbard’s allusions to Kerouac’s work in songs like “Lowell, Ma” (Kerouac’s hometown) or the more recent “Bixby Canyon Bridge” (where Gibbard travels down to Big Sur to see if he can connect with Kerouac on some higher level). Here’s a great article from Paste too.

Here’s the track list via the official Death Cab for Cutie website

1. California Zephyr
2. Low Life Kingdom
3. Willamine
4. All In One
5. Breathe Our Iodine
6. These Roads Don’t Move
7. Big Sur
8. One Fast Move Or I’m Gone
9. Final Horrors
10. Sea Engines
11. The Void
12. San Francisco

Can’t wait to see them on tour. Maybe this gives hope for that long overdue Postal Service record we have all been waiting for.

Written by Rachel Summers